How to enable WhatsApp Disappearing Messages?

Whatsapp has been continuously upgrading its network by rolling out new features now and then. They have recently introduced a unique feature to the network known as “disappearing messages,” once it is active, all the messages disappear themselves after seven days of activation.

How to enable WhatsApp Disappearing Messages
How to enable WhatsApp Disappearing Messages

Why delete messages?

Whatsapp has become one of the most used networks globally, just like Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to increase their followers. More people are turning to this network as it allows the users to communicate through IM, video calls, and audio messages. It becomes one of the best communication platform all across the world. There are interactive emojis, the Gif section, and the option to attach the files, documents, and songs in the chat box. Moreover, users can also exchange contact information with each other.

Since more business enterprises rely on social media networks, including Whatsapp, their private data is at risk of getting leaked or misused. For instance, if you have teamed up with more than nine people, making a Whatsapp group may be sharing all the private information.

Your private information may include credit card information, bank details, personal pictures, and confidential data related to financial information. At no cost, you would want a hacker to access the information by using any means.

Just like Facebook, Whatsapp clipboard is more likely to get hacked as well; after all, it’s only another social network, allowing the users to connect. The interface itself is pretty much secured; however, you can’t take it for granted. And you can’t ever be certain that any information you share on such networks is confined to the chatbox only you share with your most familiar friends. There might be more people viewing your messages that you know of.

Deletion of personal data

If you manage a group of business friends and colleagues, you can share personal banking details. Credit/debit card information, photos of meetings & parties, and credentials to financial accounts. However, remember that no network is 100% safe. Therefore, you should use Whatsapp disappearing messages, particularly on the groups in which you share more personal details.

How to enable WhatsApp Disappearing Messages?

Even if you are not operating any groups with your friends or colleagues, you can still make the best of WhatsApp disappearing messages to delete any data you don’t want to store in Google drive or Whatsapp’s history for a reason. However, keep in mind that this feature does not work well on forwarded messages at all. Let’s suppose you have shared a text message in the chat with your friend with the information of “private number,” and you have forwarded it to someone else as well, then the feature may not work well.

You can turn on Whatsapp Disappearing messages most and easily using the guide mentioned below, and it can be done on any device.

  • Open the contact of the person/group/company/business.
  • Now scroll down and click on ‘disappearing messages.’
  • You will see the option to press onto “Continue.”
  • Once you tap on the option, the feature will be activated.

Once you activate the feature of disappearing messages on personal chat, your data would stay in-store for seven days. In this period, you can create a backup on Google drive or wherever you desire. Remember that your messages, including voice clips and texts, will disappear automatically after seven days of activating the option. You don’t need to do anything at all manually.

Automatic Data deletion

If you have always been wary of your details and go back to delete the data personally, you won’t have to do the tedious task anymore.

After activating the option of Disappearing messages on Whatsapp, all the messages would be deleted without lifting a finger. If you have chosen the media gallery to be saved automatically in the gallery of the phone, the pictures won’t get deleted. You may need to delete the images of “Whatsapp images” manually. If you find it time-consuming, you can go to the chatbox of the person to turn the “Automatically download media” option off. In this way, any pictures that would exchange on IM with a particular contact will not be saved on your gallery.

Whatsapp Disappearing Messages for Groups

As stated above, the option is available for both personal chats and groups on Whatsapp. To enable the group’s feature, you need to be an admin of it, or else you can ask the admin to turn on the option. It will keep the data in the chat box for seven days, and all the confidential details will be deleted after that period. From the time of activation to deletion, you have plenty of time to sort, save, and preserve the data before it gets deleted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *